Sports

Was it illegal for Quinton de Kock to distract Fakar Zaman?This is what the ICC rules say

At the second ODI against Pakistan at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg, South African wicket-keeper batter Quinton Decock stopped the gigantic deception that changed the game.

As a result of this act, it is possible that the batter’s ticket gate, Fakar Zaman, who was hitting 193, was able to set up a miraculous chase on his side, even though the ticket gate on the other side continued to fall. There is.

Pakistan is chasing 342 and the green man appeared to have almost lost 120/5 in 25 days. However, Fakhar Zaman took over that responsibility and tried to win on his side, but a cunning instance from the opposition Wicketkeeper saw everything going downhill from there.

The incident happened on the first ball of the last over. Pakistan was mostly out of the game, but it took 31 runs to win with six balls. Fakhar Zaman had a chance to finish the second century, but he couldn’t do it.

The batter hit the ball towards the cover and returned for two seconds, but there was a slight stuttering and the ball hit the stump straight.

However, the replay showed that Quinton de Kock was fooling him there. He pointed out that the throw was heading towards the end of the bowler, Fakar Zaman lost his run and turned around, but fielder Aiden Markram went to the end of the striker and De Kock hit the ball against the stump. I didn’t notice Zaman.

So was Quinton de Kock’s act illegal?

The deception frowned as critics and fans disagreed on what was right and wrong. According to Law 41 of the Laws of Cricket Competition 2017 (Marylebone Cricket Club), the code speaks of “unfair play.”

Code Law 41.5, namely “Batter’s Intentional Distraction, Deception or Obstruction,” states that under 41.5.1, “the fielder distracts, deceives, or deceives any batter after the batter by words or actions. It is unfair to deliberately attempt to interfere. ” The striker received the ball. “

Therefore, if the referee feels that the fielder has “caused or attempted to cause such a distraction,” the referee will be empowered to notify both captains and give the guilty party a five-run penalty. ..

If the Wanderers were, not only did Zaman not play, but Pakistan would have won a total of five runs.



Was it illegal for Quinton de Kock to distract Fakar Zaman?This is what the ICC rules say

Source link Was it illegal for Quinton de Kock to distract Fakar Zaman?This is what the ICC rules say

Related Articles

Back to top button