Kolkata Knight Riders has a 100% record in the final

Wednesday’s Kolkata Knight Riders reached their first Indian Premier League (IPL) final since 2014. Eoin Morgan hopes to end KKR’s seven-year title wait when the team plays against Chennai Super Kings on Friday. CSK has made its ninth IPL final appearance, thanks to Mahendra Sindoni’s sharp captain. This is KKR’s third IPL final, following 2012 and 2014. But how did KKR succeed in the two finals?

IPL2021 Full Coverage | Schedule | Results | Point Tally | Orange Cap | Purple Cap

2012 IPL final

Under the captain of Gautam Gambhir, KKR advanced to the first IPL final in 2012. Similar to this year, KKR faced Doni’s CSK in the fifth edition of the tournament’s title match. Knightriders entered the contest as an underdog, with two-time champion CSK playing in the fourth final for the first time in five years.

CSK openers Michael Hussey (54) and Murari Vijay (42) got off to a good start for the team. Suresh Raina never missed a chance, with 73 explosive innings with just 38 balls and a total of 190 runs. Brett Lee, KKR’s star bowler, couldn’t get in touch because he shot 42 runs with four overs.

Read also: CKR’s stunning revival counters CSK’s greatest legacy

KKR was shocked early on when Gambir returned in just two runs, chasing the mammoth total. However, in the opening round, Manbinder Bisla (89) and Jacques Kallis (69) have formed a coveted partnership. With the last-minute sensibilities of Shakib Al Hasan and Manoj Tiwary, the team crossed the finish line leaving two balls behind. And KKR lifted their first IPL trophy.

2014 IPL final

KKR made a comeback in 2014 after a not-so-good season in 2013. This time, Gambir’s subordinates played against Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) in the final. As in 2012, KKR was left to chase a huge target after KXIP won a huge 199 runs behind Wriddhiman Saha’s Maiden Ton.

It was all in the 2012 atmosphere that KKR lost the opener quite early on. Gambir stabilized the innings in 23 of the 17 deliveries. It was the Mannish Pandy hero who brought KKR closer to the finish line. But when the team needed only 30 runs with 20 balls remaining, he came out on 94. Yousuf Pathan’s 22-ball to 36 quickfires, and Piyush Chawla’s 13 * quickfires proved sufficient for the KKR to lift the second IPL trophy.

Read also: Chennai Super Kings Incredible IPL Journey

2021 IPL final

KKR took seven years to book their spot in the IPL final. KKR has solid spinners in Sunil Narine and Varun Chakra Valsie, and has a full lineup of batting. It will be interesting to see how it works against Dhoni’s CSK when the two teams lock the horn due to a Dussehra clash on Friday.

Get all IPL news and cricket scores here

Kolkata Knight Riders has a 100% record in the final

Source link Kolkata Knight Riders has a 100% record in the final

Related Articles

Back to top button