Euro 2020: When is the Tournament in 2021 And Who Has Qualified?

UEFA EURO 2020 match schedule | UEFA EURO 2020 | UEFA.com

The much-awaited tournament, Euro 2020, now has its full complement of sides after the qualifying play-offs conclusion. The pandemic had delayed Euro 2020. It is now going to take place in 2021. The biggest names from the 24 participating countries Cristiano Ronaldo, Sergio Ramos, Harry Kane, Paul Pogba, Luka Modric, Kevin De Bruyne, Ciro Immobile, Bruno Fernandes, and many more are likely to be in action in Euro 2021 and this is when things become more exciting. All the 24 teams at the final tournament will play a minimum of 3 games before the top teams move on to the knockout phase.

Rome, London, and Glasgow are among the 12 Euro 2020 hosts for a 24-team tournament that will be staged in 2021 between 11th June and 11th July. The 24 nations that have qualified will play across 11 host cities with Bilbao and Dublin dropped from the schedule in April.

The top 2 teams from each of the 10 groups have qualified for Euro 2020, and the remaining 4 positions have been settled in the play-offs. Scotland had scored in the penalty shootout and defeated Serbia and joined Wales and England at the tournament.

Groups for Euro 2020-21 Tournament

As the competition is being held in different countries, it didn’t have an automatic qualifier. So, every UEFA member nation had to fight to secure their place in the finals. The nations that have qualified for the Euro Championship are listed in their respective groups below.

Group A: Switzerland, Italy, Wales, and Turkey

Group B: Russia, Belgium, Finland, and Denmark

Group C: Netherlands, North Macedonia, Austria, and Ukraine

Group D: Croatia, England, Scotland, and the Czech Republic

Group E: Poland. Spain, Slovakia, and Sweden

Group F: Hungary, France, Germany, and Portugal

Euro 2021 Hosts

The Euro 2021 is going to be held in 12 different venues across 21 different cities and nations. Of these 12 venues, all are going to stage a minimum of 3 group stage games and a knockout. The breakdown of the games and venues is given below.

  1. Group Stage and Round 16: Denmark and Copenhagen at Parken Stadium
  2. Group Stage and Round 16: Hungary and Budapest at Ferenc Puskás Stadium
  3. Group Stage and Round 16: Ireland and Dublin at Aviva Stadium
  4. Group Stage and Round 16: Netherland and Amsterdam at Johan Cruijff Arena
  5. Group Stage and Round 16: Romania and Bucharest at Arena Nationala
  6. Group Stage and Round 16: Scotland and Glasgow at Hampden Park
  7. Group Stage and Round 16: Spain and Bilbao at San Mames Stadium
  8. Group Stage and Quarter Final: Azerbaijan and Baku at National Stadium
  9. Group Stage and Quarter Final: Germany and Munich at Allianz Arena
  10. Group Stage and Quarter Final: Italy and Rome at Stadio Olimpico
  11. Group Stage and Quarter Final: Russia and Saint Petersburg at Krestovsky Stadium
  12. Group Stage, Round of 16. Semi-Finals, and Final: England and London at Wembley Stadium

Reasons for Euro 2021 Being Held in 12 Different Venues

UEFA’s Executive Committee has made the decision to expand the European Championship to span over the whole continent rather than being confined to one or two host nations to commemorate the 60th anniversary of the tournament.

Gianni Infantino, the FIFA president and the former UEFA General Secretary has said that rather than having a party in just one country, they will have a party all across Europe.

He states that an opportunity like this, offering several countries and cities the chance to host at least one part of Euro, is an incredible thing, particularly during the time when the economic situation of the countries might not permit them to invest in facilities in a way an event needs.

Sure, UEFA and Infantino couldn’t have foreseen that a deadly pandemic is going to spread across the world in 2020. It is something that doesn’t go well with the concept of hosting the tournament across the continent.

Where will the Euro 2021 Final be Held?

The Euro 2021 final will be held at London’s Wembley Stadium. This is home to the England national team who finished in the 4th position at World Cup 2018. The venue is also known as ‘The Home of Football’. It is going to be used for the two semi-final matches.

The tournament is all set to start in June 2021. Every city is going to host a quarterfinal, or one last 16 matches before London takes over for the semi-finals and final. The knockouts are going to run from 26th June to 11th July. This tournament will not have any third-place play-off.

You can watch the matches on Sony Pictures Sports Network’s Sony TEN 3 or Sony TEN 2 in India from 11th June 2021 to 12th July 2021.

Related Articles

Back to top button